Call for Papers

We cordially invite submissions of papers to KONVENS 2022, which takes place from September 12th-15th, 2022 in Potsdam.

We welcome original, unpublished contributions on research, development, applications and evaluation, covering all areas of natural language processing, ranging from basic questions to practical implementations of natural language resources, components and systems. We invite contributions from both academia and industry.


We welcome the following two types of contributions:

  • Long papers (8 pages plus references), describing original research with substantial new results
  • Short papers (4 pages plus references), including small focused contributions, work in progress, as well as descriptions of projects, systems and resources

Both long and short papers will be presented orally or as posters as determined by the program chairs. The decisions will be based on the nature rather than the quality of the work. The conference languages are English and German. We encourage the submission of contributions in English. The review process will be double-blind. We ask authors to anonymize their submission accordingly. The conference proceedings will be published in the ACL Anthology.


June 10th, 2022: Paper submission due (long & short papers) (extended deadline!)
July 29th, 2022: Notification of acceptance
August 15th, 2022: Camera-ready papers due
September 12th-15th, 2022: KONVENS


Papers should be formatted in accordance with the ACL style sheets. We strongly encourage authors to use LaTeX in preparing their document. Information on the submission procedure can be found here.

PROGRAM COMMITTEE (more members to be confirmed)

Adrien Barbaresi (Berlin-Brandenburgische Akademie der Wissenschaften)
Maria Berger (Ruhr-Universität Bochum)
Marcel Bollmann (Jönköping University)
Ernst Buchberger (Medizinische Universität Wien)
Berthold Crysmann (CNRS, Université Paris Diderot-Paris 7)
Stefanie Dipper (Ruhr-Universität Bochum)
Jana Götze (Universität Potsdam)
Anke Holler (Georg-August-Universität Göttingen)
Roman Klinger (Universität Stuttgart)
Valia Kordoni (Humboldt-Universität zu Berlin)
Brigitte Krenn (Österreichisches Forschungsinstitut für Artificial Intelligence)
Udo Kruschwitz (Universität Regensburg)
Ekaterina Lapshinova-Koltunski (Universität des Saarlandes)
Katja Markert (Universität Heidelberg)
Alexander Mehler (Goethe-Universität Frankfurt am Main)
Rainer Osswald (Heinrich-Heine-Universität Düsseldorf)
Simon Ostermann (Deutsches Forschungszentrum für Künstliche Intelligenz)
Simone Paolo Ponzetto (Universität Mannheim)
Ines Rehbein (Universität Mannheim)
Georg Rehm (Deutsches Forschungszentrum für Künstliche Intelligenz)
Roland Schäfer (Humboldt-Universität zu Berlin)
Tatjana Scheffler (Ruhr-Universität Bochum)
Yves Scherrer (University of Helsinki)
David Schlangen (Universität Potsdam)
Helmut Schmid (Ludwig-Maximilian-Universität München)
Gerold Schneider (Universität Zürich)
Roman Schneider (Institut für Deutsche Sprache)
Sabine Schulte im Walde (Universität Stuttgart)
Manfred Stede (Universität Potsdam)
Henning Wachsmuth (Universität Paderborn)
Magdalena Wolska (Bauhaus-Universität Weimar)
Sina Zarrieß (Universität Bielefeld)
Torsten Zesch (Universität Duisburg-Essen)